Blogs I Read

Yesterday SA Teachers Conference asked about educational blogs.

This got me thinking, what blogs do I read? Where do I get my new teaching ideas? Have I shared them with my WordPress readers?

The most common way I read blogs is through my WordPress reader. In no particular order they are

Learn IT by Shane Pilkie, I started following Shane on Twitter earlier this year because he used to work with our year 8 coordinator and she kept raving about him. His blog looks at technology integration from a Top End perspective.

Spavell by Mark Sparvell, I first met Mark 5 years ago as part of his leadership in an environmental values education  project. He is a leader in using  ICT in education in South Australia and is now working for Principals Australia on their Palnet Program.

Heyjude by Judy O’Connell, I first learnt about Judy from the OZTL_Net email list about 7 years ago where she regularly gave wise answers to the questions raised. She is one of Australia’s leading Teacher Librarians, and is now working at Charles Sturt University.

Ackygirl by Amanda Rablin, I first met Amanda at ACEC2010 where she was on of the most prolific tweeters and often commenting on the tweets of Twitter friends of mine. She writes about technology and education and has been involved both as a teacher and in district offices of education.

Teleportation – Are we there yet by Vicki Newton, I met Vicki at the CEGSA conference this year where she had some interesting things to say about Cyber-Safety. She also blogs about iPads and Social Networks from her school in Adelaide

James Herring’s Weekly Blog by James Herring, James was one of my lecturers when I was doing my Masters of Teacher Librarianship at Charles Sturt University. He blogs each week about both a library/education issue and a visual/cultural issue.

On an e-Journy with Generation Y by Anne Mirtschin, I have been following Anne on twitter for a year or more now and her thoughts on technology and schools were worth adding to my regular reading.

Danhaesler by Dan Haesler,  I have been following Dan on twitter since before ACEC2010, he is a teacher and leader in wellbeing in schools who also writes for the Sydney Morning Herald.

While not strictly teaching blogs two other WordPress blogs that do support my teaching are:

Prakkypedia by Michelle Prak an Adelaide based social media consultant who I met at TEDxAdelaide, her insights into social media have helped to further develop my own practice.

Philosophically Disturbed by Madeline Lum an “Industrial Chemist” from Western Australia who blogs about chemistry and science communications.

I also regularly read

The Principal of Change by George Couros, The keynote and workshops that George presented at the CEGSA conference this year made me really think about online practices and leadership, and reinvigorated this blog. His blog looks at these issues and more.

Stephen’s Lighthouse by Stephen Abram, I had the opportunity to meet Stephen, a leader in library studies in North America, at the Australian School Library Association Conference in Adelaide in 2007. His focus is not specifically on school libraries, but many of his thoughts about the future of libraries apply to schools.

Life is not a race to be finished first by Allanah King, Allanah is a teacher and technology leader from NewZealand who I have heared on a number of podcasts, and hope to meet at a conference one day.

The Blue Skunk Blog by Doug Johnson, I first read Doug’s work when I started my MEd TL back in 2005 and have been reading his thoughts on the use of ICT ever since. He is an expert in ICT in schools and libraries.

Butterfly Effect by Danni Miller and her team at Enlighten Education is about helping parents and girls manage social issues girls deal with in their teens, useful for any teachers of adolescent girls.

Apophenia by danah boyd from Microsoft Research looks at issues of network and community for young people.

Teacher Technologies by Selena Woodward is all about sharing teaching resources. I have met Selena on a number of occasions through CEGSA and find her insights to be helpful.

The Podcast Edpod from ABC Radio National is also an excellent source about educational thinking.

I also find lots of useful blog posts while reading the twitter feeds of the above blog authors, as well as other  twitter users to follow.

I am always looking for more sources so please share your favourite blogs in the comments below.

David Folland

2 Comments

Filed under School, Technology

2 responses to “Blogs I Read

  1. What a great idea for a post, and thanks for including me! I’m going to earmark this and check out the blogs you’ve mentioned. It’s doubly valuable because you’ve provided an explanation or story behind them. Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Four types of teacher | lordfolland

Leave a Reply

