Why I don’t Blog

Blogs have been part of my professional learning since I was doing my post grad education degree a little over ten years ago. Since that time I have read some blogs on a regular basis for many years (Blue Skunk Blog, Stephen’s Lighthouse) others I have only read for a little while (The Principal of Change, The Butterfly Effect) and others I only read when someone links me an article (normally via twitter). These blogs have given me many ideas about teaching, some of which I have implemented in my classes and school. Blog reading has been only part of my personal professional development with attendance at conferences like CEGSA and ACEC and following twitter streams like #EdTech and #CEGSAPLN also important.

I said this post was about why I don’t blog. For me there are two key reasons.

1. It has been said before. Many of the posts I read are by thought leaders, people who a leading digital learning conversations in their school, district, country and the world. I do not feel I am one of those leaders, what I do in my class has been done before, often by dozens of others, I know I have read the blogs. For this reason I don’t bother sharing what I do via a blog.

2. Leadership doubt. I think this is the bigger one. Many of the blogs I read are about leading others. I have had some success as a peer coach in my schools, I have been continually improving my practice especially around the use of technologies, I have openly shared the things I have learnt in my school and at conferences like CEGSA and ACEC. Despite all that I do keep missing out on leadership positions at my school, often to people who have less experience in informal ICT leadership. This has made me question if I have anything that my school wants to hear, and if my school thinks what I have to say is not worthwhile why would anyone on the internet want to hear it?

What are your thoughts? Do any of my readers think I have something worth sharing, or are there other reasons to blog that I am not thinking of.

6 Comments

Filed under School, Technology

6 responses to “Why I don’t Blog

  1. Believe me that if someone as full of self doubt as myself can sustain blogging about what I do and what I think for nearly 7 years, then your thoughts and ideas have a place on the web. In the beginning, you have to blog for yourself because there are no guarantees about readership but the payoffs come slowly over time. There are a lot of edublogs out there now, but if I were you, I would leverage your 600+ followers on Twitter and alert them to your posts. They will then RT that out to their networks and before you know it, there will be feedback. I have noticed that less people leave comments these days – but feedback will sometimes come back as a tweet or a Like, or via a Pingback. I think we need more Aussie edubloggers, and more South Australian edubloggers as well. In some ways, Twitter is an easy entry point but blogging takes dedication and commitment and a willingness to throw some raw ideas out there. You work at a very innovative school – posts about how you leverage Khan Academy would be something that hasn’t been said before. Especially as KA is getting some criticism in some quarters for reinforcing the lecture as a dominant pedagogy – your take on it and the constructivist way you and your school have utilised its resources is a story worth sharing.
    Good luck, whatever you decide.

  2. teachertechnologies

    Hello 🙂 It’s me! 🙂

    Firstly, I wanted to share a quotation with you that I wave under the Pre-service teachers noses when I talk about sharing and being public:

    “You may feel like a voice in the wilderness, but it is your voice we are waiting to hear…you are the determining factor.” Neale Donald Walsh – Author

    I can understand how you feel. However, I can tell you categorically that people ARE interested in what you have to say. Some prefer to read from teachers in the field rather than from those who are as you described as “thought leaders”. To some, you are a more authentic “thought leader”.

    Like you, I’ve been blogging for a long while. I have a couple of blogs that I write. One’s a personal, diary style weblog, the other one, one on which I share my thoughts, discoveries and knowledge on all things education and technology. I had the personal blog before I had the educational one. Somehow, writing my diary online so that I could share it with my friends (especially once I’d left England) made more sense to me than sharing my experiences in the classroom. I may even have felt as you suggest you do in your post.

    However, in 2007 I started teachertechnologies.com because I had a lot of websites I wanted to share with teachers. I was doing so in a word document (lol) – not very practical – and I knew there had to be a better way. That’s when the free resources part of the site was born. Then, I started to write about my experiences because I realised that the teachers I was working with were experiencing many of the same issues, and asking the same questions that I had asked a couple of years ago. I was hoping to remove some of the pain points for them and help them make progress faster. That’s when I learnt about how powerful collaboration is. Those people I connected with, returned the favour and have helped make me the educational technology nerd I am today 🙂 None of those people were mega stars! They were all classroom teachers like me 🙂

    Although I have never met this guy. This blog has inspired me in so many ways http://www.thenerdyteacher.com/ and has taught me a lot about blogging too 🙂 He’s an English teacher in America. I’ve watched his kids perform Romeo and Juliet, live, via webcam and all sorts!

    PLEASE write, share and join in the learning conversation. It’s a wonderful thing to do. There will be far more than one person who wants to hear your voice. Now I’ve found your blog, I certainly count among them 🙂

  3. annemirtschin

    Hi, I would like to add to the support of blogging by the previous two commentors. In this digital age, it is important to have a worthy online presence. As we become more and more connected as global citizens, others will want to know more about you, what you do and then connect further. As Graham as previously said, blogging can bringing many rewards that may only be discovered several years after commencing.

  4. annemirtschin

    Oh, and by the way, it is great to read your thoughts on the posts of your blogs! So, perhaps you do blog……….sometimes. Keep that voice going.

  5. Pingback: I don’t want to ‘change’ the world anymore… I want to help ‘grow’ it instead. | Teacher Technologies

Leave a Reply

