A little pain

Teeth

Teeth by the follands cc by-sa

It is interesting what thoughts go through your mind at 4am after being woken by a teething baby. One of the key thoughts I have had over the past few weeks is sometimes a little pain can lead to some amazing experiences (like bread). She may not realise it at the moment, and I need to remind myself at 4am, but teeth lead to the ability to eat so many different foods. So a little pain can lead to some amazing experiences?

But Lordfolland, you say, this is an educational blog, why are you writing about pain and teeth?

It is a metaphor dear reader, educational pain can lead to significant changes and improvement in learning outcomes for both teachers and students. Let me elaborate.

I had a student in my information processing class who is comfortable using to design documents, as he has been using it for many years. When I explained that to make website he should use dreamweaver he was fearful. “I don’t know how to use it, I won’t be able to do it” he told me. After a few days of discussion and encouragement he gave dreamweaver a go. He has since discovered that he has been able to create a good website with all of the features he wants, even if it was a little more difficult then publisher.

To be even teaching this class was a challenge not without mental anguish for myself.  I have three university qualifications; a chemistry degree, a teaching degree and a teacher librarianship degree. As part of each of my studies  I have looked at computer technology. With this background the knowledge and skills required to teach science, research junior high ICT and junior maths were never something that I was worried about having. Information Processing and Publishing was another matter.

IPP is part of the Business and Enterprise learning area in our states curriculum. Last time I was involved in a business enterprise it closed after one year with losses of 10000’s  of dollars. Information Processing and Publishing also has artistic undertones, in the design process. Art was one of the subjects at school that caused me the most fear, worse than PE. With these fears behind me it was with trepidation and a lot of research that I took on teaching of year 11 and 12 Information Processing and Publishing (in one class another first) last year.

I am pleased to say that I have greatly enjoyed teaching this subject and that my current year 11 class may be my favourite to work with. So when teaching or your own education throughs up something that looks hard and may give you some pain, give it a go, you just might have an amazing experience.

1 Comment

Filed under School

One response to “A little pain

  1. Quite a creative and engaging way to reflect on how there’s no gain without pain (of some degree.) It really is about making the move out of comfort zones in order to develop. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

